45th Annual
Sickle Cell Tennis Classic

August 6 & 7 and 8-10, 2022

         Home        Register - 45th Sickle Cell          

   Photos    Resources & Links    Past Winners All Years   

Sickle Cell Tennis Tournament History


Annual Sickle Cell Tennis Classic - History



1978 -1980 Organized by the "Rodney Street Players" Tennis

Club; Founders were Alan Clark and Wilbert Fletcher.

1982 - 1983 Hosted by Rodney Tennis Association & BPA (Brandywine Professional Association)

1984 - 1989 Hosted by BPA.

1990 - 1991 Hosted by BPA & SMASH Tennis Club.

1992-2005 Hosted by BPA.

2006 -  2021 Hosted by AKA Sorority, Inc - Zeta Omega Chapter and Pearls of Hope Foundation. Inc.


Access Group, Inc.  Alliance Consulting, Inc
Als' Sporting Goods   Lend Lease Cars
Dupont Company     Texaco
Pepsi Cola Company  Winner Group
Beneficial  Mellon Bank
Hercules Inc.  Merchants Bank
Miller Brewing Penn Racquet Sports



There have been many contributors over the past years. The list of them is to lengthy to list here. So in fairness to all, the list of individuals, companies and corporation who have supported this cause over the past is available upon request.



Over the years, more than $323,000 has been donated for National Sickle Cell Research.

Funds are currently being donated to

Nemours Partnership for Children's Health for sickle cell disease research at the Alfred I. duPont Hospital for Children



  • Connie Hawkins and Billy Knight (professional NBA players)

  • Earl "The Pearl" Monroe, (professional NBA player)

  • Chip Hooper (Tennis Professional)

  • Lori McNeil (Tennis Professional)

Tournament Officials

Watson Brown  302-239-4105
James F. Monk, Jr.  302-323-0161


E-mail: sctt@sctennistournament.org